Feb 032015
 
Review: Love in the Age of Mechanical ReproductionLove in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction by Judd Trichter
Published by Thomas Dunne Books on Feb 3, 2015
Genres: Adult, Science Fiction
Format: eARC from Netgalley
Find the book: Amazon, Goodreads
Rating: two-stars

Set in a near-future LA, a man falls in love with a beautiful android—but when she is kidnapped and sold piecemeal on the black market, he must track down her parts to put her back together.

Bad luck for Eliot Lazar, he fell in love with an android, a beautiful C-900 named Iris Matsuo. That’s the kind of thing that can get you killed in late 21th century Los Angeles or anywhere else for that matter – anywhere except the man-made island of Atlantis, far out in the Pacific, which is where Eliot and Iris are headed once they get their hands on a boat. But then one night Eliot knocks on Iris’s door only to find she was kidnapped, chopped up, sold for parts.

Unable to move on and unwilling to settle for a woman with a heartbeat, Eliot vows to find the parts to put Iris back together again—and to find the sonofabitch who did this to her and get his revenge.

With a determined LAPD detective on his trail and time running out in a city where machines and men battle for control, Eliot Lazar embarks on a bloody journey that will take him to edge of a moral precipice from which he can never return, from which mankind can never return.

In the vein of Blade Runner, Love in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction is a scifi love story that asks the question, how far will you go to save someone you love?

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This was such a depressing robot story. Eliot may have a noble and sad quest trying to collect the pieces of his missing robot girlfriend, but his “ends justify the means” attitude was not very pleasant.

Due to his attitude, Eliot himself is not a very likable character. His drug addiction doesn’t help his case, no matter how sympathetic he is to the robot discrimination that permeates his world. The fact that he doesn’t care what he needs to do in order to put Iris back together is not noble, and some of the actual actions he takes are almost despicable.

The feel of the world and setting were quite well developed, and my intense dislike of Eliot is probably a good indication of writing quality, but it’s hard to like a book when you dislike the main character. While I can commend the writing and putting together of the book, the story itself was not for me.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)

CommentLuv badge