Nov 132013
 

Review: Lethal Circuit + Giveaway

Review: Lethal Circuit + GiveawayLethal Circuit (Michael Chase #1) by Lars Guignard
Narrated by: Ben Sullivan
Published by Fantastic Press on Aug 8, 2013
Genres: Adult, Thriller
Format: Audiobook from Publisher
Find the book: Amazon, Goodreads
Rating: three-stars

A Chinese satellite is on crash course with Earth.
It contains enough plutonium to irradiate a large city.
And that’s the good news…

In the tradition of Tom Clancy, Michael Crichton, and Robert Ludlum, comes a new hero.

Michael Chase is a twenty-six year old backpacker, a recent college grad, an amateur. He flew to Hong Kong to find his missing father. Four hours later, he’s running for his life. The Chinese Secret Police want him dead. The Conspiracy wants him dead. And the one person who he thinks is on his side, may want him dead too. If Michael is going to live, he’ll need to find a hidden piece of Nazi technology lost since World War II. And he’ll have to do it before anyone else. Because if he doesn’t, a little plutonium is going to be the least of his problems.

This was an exciting, politically charged spy thriller. There were lots of twists and turns and surprises that I never saw coming. It made for a very thrilling story, although I did find the political and historical parts a bit hard to follow.

The story was split between the current day action and many flashbacks to Michael’s childhood. He had a tramatic childhood as he was kidnapped when he was a teenager. The flashbacks and memories didn’t seem to have a purpose at first, but the significance is revealed later in the story.

The audiobook version of the story did not create a great impression. The narration itself was okay. The voice fit the character, and while there wasn’t a lot of variation between the characters, it did feel authentic. The production of the audiobook was quite another thing; it was not well done at all. There were obvious starts and stops, and the quality was not consistent.

Overall, this was an exciting start to a series. There were a lot of secrets revealed at the end, so the next book in series should be completely different from this one. This story was fairly well wrapped up although there were quite a few things left open. The audio production did not do the story justice, but the book itself was quite the thriller.

Tour Giveaway

Win one of 3 ebooks and 3 audiobooks of Lethal Circuit. Open worldwide until Nov 27. Enter using the Rafflecopter form below.

You can also get the ebook FREE today (Nov 13) on Amazon.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

  5 Responses to “Review: Lethal Circuit + Giveaway”

  1. Thanks for giving it a try and hosting a tour stop!

  2. Thanks for your post! Cheers, Lars

  3. LETHAL CIRCUIT does sound like a very exciting read.

  4. It sounds like an exciting story with unexpected turns.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)

CommentLuv badge